MSLAW is accredited by the following agencies:
New England Schools & Colleges
Contact Information: For Executive Office/general questions and concerns, please contact Kathy Willis at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 781.425.7706. You may also view the full staff list.
Toll-free: 855.88.NEASC (855.886.3272)
Mail: New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Inc.
3 Burlington Woods Drive, Suite 100
Burlington, Massachusetts 01803
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
Email: General Email Form
Mail: One Ashburton Place, Room 1401, Boston, MA 02108
Fax: 617.727.0955 or 617.727.6656
Office of Student Financial Assistance
Mail: 454 Broadway, Suite 200, Revere, MA 02151
For complaints regarding higher education institutions:
Visit the Student Complaints section.
Massachusetts School of Law at Andover is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC). After it began operation in August 1988, Massachusetts School of Law at Andover sought approval from the Massachusetts Board of Regents. The Regents authorized Massachusetts School of Law to grant the degree of Juris Doctor in May 1990, only twenty-one months after Massachusetts School of Law opened its doors. Because of the Regents’ approval, MSLAW graduates are eligible to take the state bar examination and, upon passage, to be admitted to the bar in Massachusetts. In December 1997, NEASC awarded accreditation to the Massachusetts School of Law.
MSLAW students are eligible to take the Bar immediately upon graduation in Massachusetts and in Connecticut. After passing Massachusetts or Connecticut, they are immediately eligible to take the bar exam in New Hampshire, Maine, Wisconsin, California, West Virginia, the District of Columbia, and Maryland. In addition, there are a number of jurisdictions where MSLAW graduates are eligible to take the bar after practicing for the period of time listed below.
Jurisdictions where MSLAW graduates may be admitted to the bar:
- Alaska: 5 years
- Arizona: 5 years
- California: Immediately after passing the Massachusetts Bar exam
- Colorado: 5 Years
- Connecticut: Immediately
- District of Columbia: Immediately after passing the Massachusetts Bar exam*
- Florida: 10 Years
- Hawaii: 5 Years
- Kentucky: 3 Years
- Maine: Immediately after passing the Massachusetts Bar exam
- Maryland: MSLAW students have received individual permission after admission in Massachusetts
- Massachusetts: Immediately
- Minnesota: 5 Years
- Missouri: 3 Years
- Nevada: 10 years
- New Hampshire: Immediately after passing the Massachusetts Bar exam, or may be waived in via motion after practicing 5 years**
- New Mexico: 4 Years
- New York: 5 Years
- Oregon: 3 Years
- Pennsylvania: 5 Years
- Rhode Island: 5 Years
- Texas: 3 Years
- Utah: 10 Years
- Washington: 3 Years + LLM from ABA-approved school
- West Virginia: By individual petition to the “Substantially Equivilent Committee”
- Wisconsin: Immediately after passing the Massachusetts Bar exam
This list is not exhaustive and, because states sometimes change rules regarding admission requirements to the bar, you should contact the bar authorities in the jurisdiction that is of interest to you to receive the most up-to-date rules.
* District of Columbia requires a 133 scaled MBE score
** Motion to New Hampshire Bar